Kent Thiry

Founder and Chair, Colorado Thrives

Kent Thiry (KT) was CEO of DaVita from 1999 to 2019, a Fortune 400 Company with 65,000 teammates across 12 countries.  KT stepped down as Executive Chairman in June, 2020.

DaVita is known for a distinctively engaged culture and for developing well-rounded general managers/ leaders. DaVita has been the subject of leadership and culture case studies written by both Harvard and Stanford.  Kent is regularly invited to speak on these subjects at top business schools, companies and not-for-profit leadership groups.

In 2016, he led Let Colorado Vote, a group that passed two statewide ballot initiatives, one that re-established the presidential primary and a second that opens Colorado’s primaries to unaffiliated voters.  In 2018, Kent co-chaired the campaigns of two more successful statewide initiatives (Fair Maps Colorado), in this case reforming the congressional and state redistricting process, eliminating gerrymandering.

Kent serves on the global board of The Nature Conservancy.  He also founded and chairs Colorado Thrives, a group consisting primarily of large Colorado Company CEOs, which is focused on advancing economic mobility and the general well-being of Colorado and all its citizens.

KT co-founded The Aspen Group with Senators Bill Frist and Tom Daschle, a group dedicated to non-partisan healthcare reform.  He is also a founding board member of Colorado Endeavor, an international entrepreneurial network.

Earlier in his career Kent served as chairman and CEO of Vivra, a NYSE health care service company; and partner at Bain & Company.  Prior board seats include the Harvard Business School Advisory Board, Oxford Health Plan and Varian.  Kent is currently an advisor to KKR.

Kent earned his B.A. in political science from Stanford University in 1978, with distinction and Phi Beta Kappa.  He earned his M.B.A., with honors, from Harvard Business School in 1983.

Kent received the Woodrow Wilson Award for Denver Corporate Citizenship in 2013. In 2016 he received the International Bridge Builders Award from the University of Denver.  Kent is also the founder and chairman of AdvanceEDU, an innovative hybrid college and is chair of the Colorado Gap Fund, a fund focused on providing capital access to small businesses, especially those owned by women, minorities or veterans …or those located in rural areas.

March 7, 2018

Related Posts